Local Burning Ban Issued Includes Jackson County

The recent dry spell is causing concerns for local county officials. Some parts of the state are in a moderate drought, and some counties are already dealing with forest fires.Floyd, Johnson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Lincoln, Magoffin, Pike and Whitley Counties issued burn bans on Monday. Jackson County issued a ban on Sunday. Knott County joined the others on Tuesday.The ban will remain in effect until the county gets enough rainfall to mitigate the fire hazard.

Source: MG News

Return to News