Gov. Beshear Declares State of Emergency After Thursday Flooding

Governor Andy Beshear declared a state of emergency Friday after multiple counties in Southeastern Kentucky experienced flooding on Thursday.

Bell, Clay, Harlan, Knox, Leslie, Letcher, Perry, Whitesburg, Jenkins, Hyde, and Whitley Counties all declared states of emergency this week.

The declaration allows for the mobilization of state resources in the affected areas. Kentucky Emergency Management officials will be out doing damage assessments starting this morning through next week as high water begins to recede.

Source: MG News

Return to News